Jettison

The story-making me spins itself a yarn about waking up.
It might go something like this:

“I’m close. Real close. I can feel it.
It’s got to be just one more thing I need to know,
one more thing to push me over the edge.”

Not.

There is nothing to know.
Nothing is added to the mind.
Something disappears.

That something is “me”.

There is no secret, no special knowledge.
If there was, I would headline it in every post.
Social media too.

I’d make radio commercials,
and sky writing,
rent billboards,
pass out flyers,
even go door to door.

It’s not like that.

It’s not a knowledge deficiency.

It’s a belief surplus.

No one can give it to you.
No one can take it away.

Really, if that’s all it was,
I would find a way to do it.

I’d spend my whole life handing it out.

In the movies, that’s the way it works.

“Tell me, Master Yoda! I’ve learned so much !”

Makes a great story.

The mind loves stories.

Something given, coming in from the outside,
just hear it and you’ve “got” it.

Or even worse, just “believe “.

In the movies,
little is required,
beyond belief,
and gobs of enthusiasm.

Life just living sounds way too simple for the belief-prone mind,
busily insisting that reality conform to its expectations.

Looking with glaring honesty,
unencumbered with preconditions,
demands a discomforting courage.

Jettisoning beliefs,
“unlearning what you have learned”,
makes a great place to start.

************************************************************

jettisoning : present participle of jet·ti·son (Verb)
1) Throw or drop (something) from an aircraft or ship.
2) Abandon or discard (someone or something that is no longer wanted). More info »Merriam-Webster – The Free Dictionary

The jettisoning of the rocket booster came from here: http://talesofcuriosity.com/v/Apollo/i/losingstage.jpg

About dominic724

A former seeker starts blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jettison

  1. lynnjkelly says:

    Terrific post. Both true and poetic. Lynn

    My blog, the Buddha’s Advice to Laypeople, is here: http://buddhasadvice.wordpress.com/

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

