Kinetics

Kinetics (Ancient Greek: κίνησις “kinesis”, movement or to move) may refer to: (in physics ), the study of motion and its causes [Wikipedia ]

Movement: what is actually going on ?

The presumption is that I am moving, say, the right index finger. Up. Down. I can move it any way I want to !
Obviously I am moving the finger.
How else would it move ?
I can leave it at rest too.
How is it I am not in control of the finger ?

A careful examination of movement leads to a different conclusion.

If I moves the finger, then I “has” a thought about it first.
“I will move the finger.”
Then the finger moves.
Then the thought ” I moved the finger.”

Suppose there is no thought first.
( noticed very frequently in sports, dance, driving – whenever there is no time to think )
Then the finger moves. ( or whatever the movement is)
Then the thought “I moved the finger.”
Now it is a little less veiled,
even more apparent that the thought of I claims credit for the movement
when it was not even present.

Now, supposed there is no thought before or after a movement. Try holding the breath for a while, moving the finger, and continuing to hold the breath.
Silent mind.
Finger moves.
No one grabbing credit.
Any difference in the movement ?

How does movement happen when the mind is silent if an “I” thought really has any part in the process ?

At this point, I have heard people suddenly revert to a subconscious explanation of the I.
“I subconsciously moved the finger.”
OK. So we are getting down to the nitty-gritty.
I has no consistent qualities, not even of conscious thought.

I will be imputed upon whatever is necessary in order to keep its existence intact.

I is not an agent, it is an ideology.

No evidence available will be allowed to dispute the presence of the I as the doer of this life.
That’s ideology.
Conclusion first, evidence afterword.
Contrary evidence immediately rejected.

What’s really going on ?

Is it possible that sometimes things happen too fast
to think about before moving ?

What about slower ? Ever held a conversation while walking down the street ? Do you have to concentrate on taking each step, moving each leg, being sure not to tip over forward or back ? Or have you walked for miles, deep in conversation, never giving a single thought to the thousands of steps that transpired ? Does walking just happen ? Being “used to it” does not explain anything. The “I” is supposed to be in charge of walking? If the I were absent, what difference does it make?

Really, what difference does it make with no I ?

Isn’t walking still just going on ?
Walking continues, unabated, unhindered, unaffected.

Walking happens.

Movement happens.

Examine movement very closely.

All of the keys to unlocking the no-self view are hidden in plain sight.

One of the keys is how the body moves.

*******************************************************************************
Thanks to the following sites for these photos – dancers: http://mag.diddlyi.com/2009/08/riverdance-lines-keep-growing-longer/

-the basketball pic: http://nba-basketball-
guides.blogspot.com/2012/01/of-nba-basketball-game.html

– the pic of the Aikido competition: http://www.expat-advisory.com/events/southeast-asia/cambodia/phnom-penh/2010-all-cambodia-aikido-exhibition

And to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinetics

About dominic724

A former seeker starts blogging.
This entry was posted in Exercises and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kinetics

  1. I like the discussion here– movement is like breath. It occurs both autonomically and under the control of our minds. I like the idea of using it as an awakening vehicle! Thanks for another great post!

  2. And, yes- Kinesis means movement in ancient Greek. It’s a noun-form.

Leave a Reply

